Iron Man 2: My Personal Take

3 05 2010

I just had a chance to watch Iron Man 2. Too bad there’s no IMAX theatre in my area but normal theatre will do.

Personally I am satisfied with Iron Man 2. Iron Man 1 was fresh and Iron Man 2 didn’t waste time to retell the story and it continued after the first movie. Without any spoiler, fans of Iron Man will like it. As for casual action fans, they might be skeptical at some point of the movie but I’m sure they will like the film as well.

Robert Downey, Jr. seemed very easy going as Tony Stark. He played the role with such suaveness and slick that made Tony Stark stands out among other graphic novel adaptation. I’m glad that Gwyneth Paltrow and Jon Favreau’s Pepper Potts and Happy Hogan respectively had more roles in the film. All three of them had good chemistry and dynamic that made their relationship in the graphic novel alive in this film.

I really enjoyed Sam Rockwell’s performance as Justin Hammer. I know, I know, the real Hammer is way older but I think director Jon Favreau did the right thing to decrease Hammer’s age to be the same range as Robert Downey, Jr.’s Tony Stark. Every scene that has both Stark and Hammer were delightful.

Don Cheadle’s role as James Rhodes was okay for me. He did an adequate job on this one. At first I thought I might have doubt to see him as Rhodes (instead of Terrence Howard). But I was wrong. Cheadle played the role nicely and had a good chemistry with Downey, Jr.’s Tony Stark. As for Scarlett Johansson’s Black Widow, personally she left something to be desired. I assume that she might have more role in, if any, the next Iron Man movie.

As for Mickey Rourke, I’m sure he had a blast playing Ivan Vanko’s role in Iron Man 2. His appearance as Vanko in the 1st act was very intimidating.

All in all, I’m satisfied with Iron Man 2 and this movie surely leaves some room for the (I’m very sure there will be) Iron Man 3. And be sure to stay After the credit. You’ll be surprised like I was.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

